MINUTES OF THE ST. MARY'S COUNTY PLANNING COMMISSION MEETING CHESAPEAKE BUILDING * LEONARDTOWN, MARYLAND Monday, October 16, 2017

Members present: Howard Thompson – Chairman, Shelby Guazzo – Co-Chair, Martin Siebert, Hal Willard, Patricia Robrecht, Joseph VanKirk, Clarke Guy and Caroline King, Alternate.

Bill Hunt, Director; Kathleen Easley, Sr. Planner; and Sandie Greene, Recording Secretary were present from the Department of Land Use and Growth Management.

Bob Kelly, Chief Information Officer, Department of Information Technology and David Weiskopf, County Attorney.

The meeting was called to order by Chairman Thompson at approximately 6:30 p.m.

Chairman Thompson reminded everyone that this meeting is a work session.

WORK SESSION

DISCUSSION

1. St. Mary's County Plan Implementation and Development Process (5-Year Mid-Cycle Report 5-Year Report 2011-2016 presented by Kathleen Easley, Senior Planner, Land Use and Growth Management.

Exhibit 1- St. Mary's Plan Implementation and Development Process (5 Year mid Cycle Report /2011-2016)

Exhibit 2- Managing Maryland's Growth- Transitioning to the Comprehensive Plan 10-Year Review Cycle

Ms. Easley stated the report is on schedule for the 5 year mid cycle report for 2016-2017. The Comprehensive Plan will be need to be updated in 2021-2023.

All information provided can be found on the Maryland Department of Planning website.

Commissioner Guazzo requested that a notation be placed in the report stating that the Septic Law of 2012 will have a profound effect on a rural county like St. Mary's County. The law significantly impedes the growth of rural Counties.

2. Review and Discussion of Lexington Park Development District Master Plan Land Use and Zoning.

Mr. Kelly's presentation displayed the online map updating Area 6 and 8 (Boundary and Land Use). The GIS group has broken the map into sections (areas) beyond the focus areas to better process the rest of the LPDDMP maps.

http://stmarysmd.maps.arcgis.com/apps/webappviewer/index.html?id=9c26e11f3a2c42b0 8043820b620e65e4.

The street names have been provided to show a clearer overview of the printouts.

All adjustments requested at the previous meeting (Area 5, Area 7, and FDR) have been incorporated.

Exhibit 1- Approved LPDD Land Use and the corrected LPDD Land Use Maps

Exhibit 2- Comprehensive spreadsheet detailing the activity and changes on each Area, report includes areas 6 and 8 and all past changes.

Discussion for Area 6:

1908015805 Approved Land Use was Rural Residential; Correction Land Use is Residential Low Density to match the land use in the surrounding area.

1908029539 Approved Land Use was Industrial Areas/Residential Low Density. Planning Commission recommendation will be to leave as shown on the map as Industrial land.

Discussion for Area 8:

1906041183 Lists as Industrial Land

1906058388 Leave as Industrial Land

1906058515 Correction Land is owned by the Higher Education Center and is not public property, government property or non-profit owned, staff made the change from Public Lands to Office and Business Park.

Area 6 & 8 Map 2 Street Miles Village Drive is listed as Industrial, however there are residents on this land. Bob Kelly will research through older maps to review this property and bring back the correction if needed.

1908112010 Correction Land is owned by a privately owned day-care center; change from Public Lands to Office and Business Park.

1906065201 Listed as Office and Business Parks Public Lands, change to Public Lands

Maps 23 and 27 Property in Town Creek; Bob Kelly will research Open Spaces listed on both maps to see if approved Residential Low Density.

The Planning Commission instructed Bob Kelly to create a Master List of map changes. Final review of all changes will be presented at the November 13, 2017 meeting. Final report and maps will then be submitted to the St. Mary's County Commissioners for review and approval.

ADJOURNMENT

A motion to adjourn was made at approximately 7:45 by Commissioner Siebert.

Commissioner Willard seconded. The motion passed unanimously.

Approved in open session:

October 23, 2017

Howard Thompson Chairman

Misone

Sandie Greene Recording Secretary